Tim Hecker announces new album - Ravedeath, 1972

Here’s another excitign new record announcement for Febraury – Canadian ambient/electronic sound artist Tim Hecker will release Ravedeath, 1972 in February through Kranky. That’s the very awesome cover art up there. The new record was recorded mostly live on one day this past July and follows last year’s excellent An Imaginary Country. Here’s what the press release had to say:

Recorded in a church in Reykjavik, Iceland and using a pipe organ as the primary sound source, this new piece is essentially a live recording. In reality, it exists in a nether world between captured live performance and meticulous studio work, melding the two approaches to sonic artifice as a unity…It is an almost physical presence that the listener feels as much as hears. This work is a significant contribution to Hecker's oeuvre, one which spans over ten years of musical production. Ravedeath is an enigmatic document of beauty and force.

The tracklist:

1. The Piano Drop

2. In the Fog l-ll

3. In the Fog lll

4. No Drums

5. Hatred of Music l

6. Hatred of Music ll

7. Analog Paralysis, 1978

8. Studio Suicide, 1980

9. In the Air l-lll


No comments: