[Live/Bootleg] The Replacements - The Shit Hits The Fans

Of all the Replacements’ bootlegs I’ve posted over the past few weeks, perhaps none is as infamous as The Shit Hits The Fans. Recorded to tape by a fan at an Oklahoma show in November of 1984, the recording was abruptly confiscated that night by the band’s soundman and later released as a cassette-only limited edition of 10,000 copies by Twin Tone Records. The original run quickly sold out, and it’s been out of print ever since. That ugly-as-hell cover art up there was contributed by drummer Chris Mars.

If you know anything about the Mats’ history, then you are probably aware of their notoriety for being unpredictable as a live act. Though capable of amazing performances on any given night, Replacements’ concerts were often complete and utter messes. While all the shows I’ve shared lately would fall into the previous category, here’s a glimpse of what the other side sounded like. The Shit Hits The Fans is full of covers, aborted covers, noodling around, drunken ramblings, sloppy play, and the occasional Westerberg original played kind of half-assed. The sound is surprisingly good though, and it’s fun to hear the band stumble their way through Black Sabbath’s “Iron Man”, Tom Petty’s “Breakdown”, B.T.O.’s “Takin’ Care Of Business” (which they actually kind of nail), and many of the others.

So, I guess whether or not you need to download this depends on how much of a fan you consider yourself to be. By no means an essential recording for the casual listener, The Shit Hits The Fans is nonetheless a welcome addition to your Mats collection if you, like me, hold the band in the highest regard. I suppose I’d’ve been pretty pissed at the time if I lived somewhere in Middle America and paid hard-earned money to see a show only to have the band fuck around for 90 minutes, but by now recordings like this only add to their dysfunctional mythology. The best band in the world, if only they gave a shit. Plus, a rippin’ “Can’t Hardly Wait”, so win-win. Read more about this recording here.

ZIP :: The Replacements - The Shit Hits The Fans (62.1 MB)

The Setlist:

1. Lawdy Miss Clawdy (Lloyd Price)
2. Ye Sleeping Knights of Jesus (Robin Hitchcock)
3. Lovelines
4. I’ll Be There (Jackson 5)
5. Sixteen Blue
6. Can’t Hardly Wait
7. I Will Dare
8. Hear You Been To College
9. Saturday Night Special (Lynyrd Skynyrd)
10. Iron Man (Black Sabbath)
11. Misty Mountain Hop (Led Zep)
12. Heartbreaker (Led Zep)
13. Can’t Get Enough (Mick Ralphs)
14. Jailbreak (Thin Lizzy)
15. Breakdown (Tom Petty)
16. No More The Moon Shines On Lorena (Alvin Pleasant Carter)
17. Merry Go Round (Motley Crew?)
18. Left In The Dark (Ken Draznik)
19. Takin’ Care Of Business (Bachman Turner Overdrive)
20. I Will Follow (U2)
21. Jumpin Jack Flash (Rolling Stones)
22. Radio Free Europe (REM)
23. The New Worls (Cervenka/Nommensen Duchac)
24. Let It Be (Beatles)


[Live/Bootleg] The Replacements - It Ain’t Over ‘Til The Fat Roadies Play
[Live/Bootleg] The Replacements - Murder At Maxwells
[Live/Bootleg] The Replacements - Live at The Roxy, LA
[Live/Bootleg] The Replacements - Shit, Shower, & Shave
[Live/Bootleg] The Replacements - Simply Unacceptable, July 1985
[Live/Bootleg] The Replacements - Putting On The Ritz, NYC 1987
[Bootleg] Paul Westerberg - Unintentionally

1 comment:

Jason said...

I've always had a real fondness for this recording; I saw them one or two nights before this gig in Lawrence, KS and it was pretty much the same glorious mess (but sadly undocumented.)

Thanks for the slew of other Replacements rarities as well; tomorrow's playlist is looking pretty bright.